hsaxton

a dancer and an aspiring paleontologist.
Location: Milan, MI
Thought Bubble:
This mom hasn't added any Thought Bubbles.
Last Login: 12/31/11

CafeMom Veteran

  • Recent Activity

    hsaxton has no recent activity.

  • About Me

    • Girl Sarah 15 years old

      Eyes of chocolate brown,...

    • Boy Christopher 16 years old

      Blond and blue-eyed,...

  • Photos

  • Journal Posts

    Has Your Child Been Abused? Tips for Parents

    by hsaxton posted at 1:25 PM on May. 6 , 2008

    518 Views
    Comments
    584 Views
    Comments

    Do you ever feel like "Remedial Mom"?

    by hsaxton posted at 10:39 PM on Feb. 20 , 2008

    568 Views
    Comments

    Do you have a "Mary Story"?

    by hsaxton posted at 10:40 AM on Feb. 10 , 2008

    518 Views
    1 Comments

    Forty Reasons to Adopt

    by hsaxton posted at 1:53 PM on Oct. 23 , 2007

    594 Views
    Comments
  • Personal Statement

    10. I have two new books coming out: One about Mary (Jesus' mother) called "Behold Your Mother: Mary Stories and Reflections from a Catholic Convert" (Bezalel Press), and "Raising Up Mommy: Virtues for Difficult Mothering Moments" (Simon Peter Press). You can find info on both books on my parenting blog "Mommy Monsters" (http://mommymonsters.blogspot.com)

    9.  I'm an adoptive mother of two former foster children (siblings).

    8.  I'm the editor of "Canticle" magazine -- a bimonthly publication for Catholic women (www.canticlemagazine.com)

    7.  I love puttering in the kitchen, and especially enjoy making gingerbread houses.

    6.  I blog constantly .. for adoptive parents (MommyMonsters.blogspot.com), Catholic seekers and converts (streamsofmercy.blogspot.com) and Catholic women writers (heidihesssaxton.blogspot.com).

    5.  Before getting married a week before my 35th birthday, I traveled and moved with breath-taking regularity ... Senegal, Poland, California, Minnesota, Jersey, and now Michigan. I've lived here longer than anywhere but New Jersey (13 years).

    4. I am a passionate advocate for women and children, especially survivors of domestic violence and other kinds of abuse.

    3. Before becoming Catholic, I spent 30 years in the Evangelical Protestant tradition, in a variety of denominations (I have a music background, and played piano/organ and directed choirs since I was 12).

    2. I'm a lousy housekeeper, but I try to keep a handle on things most days. My favorite TV program is "Clean House."

    1.  I love being a mom ... almost always!

  • Mary video

  • Virtual Mama

close Cafemom Join now to connect to other members! Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN