kelgarrett

Mother of 2 kid(s)
Location: Bloomington, Illinois
Thought Bubble:
This mom hasn't added any Thought Bubbles.
Last Login: 12/31/11

CafeMom Veteran

  • About Me

    • Boy Ian 15 years old
    • Girl Mallory 20 years old
  • Photos

    kelgarrett hasn't added any photos.

  • Journal Posts

    kelgarrett hasn't added any journal posts.

  • Personal Statement

    I'm a working Mom who would like to have the time to complete this section! So for now, here's what I have time for: My husband Mark and I live in Bloomington, Illinois, home of State Farm Insurance,, Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University, Country Insurance, Beer Nuts, Kathryn Beich candies, Eureka Vacuum, Mitsubishi Motors and others. We share our lives with our two beautiful children, an 11-year-old girl and a almost 7-year-old boy. We both, along with 15,000+ other people in Bloomington, work at State Farm. I'm a Systems Analyst despite having Masters Degree in Music with concentrations in Vocal Performance and Conducting. I've been programming for 19 1/2 years and love the career change although I do miss the music. Finding time for it - fat chance! I went part-time for 5 years when my son turned one because I found out that boys are completely different creatures than girls. I spend my time outside of work watching my daughter play soccer and my son play baseball. I try to find time for scrapbooking although it suits itself more to the cold months. We have a motorhome and hope for more time to spend in it this summer. We have an almost 16-year-old beloved Poodle named Boodles, 7 hermit crabs, 2 dwarf hamsters, 2 aquariums full of fish, and a guinea pig. I love to garden and hope to one day be a Master Gardener. I love shopping in the late spring for more perennials to fill my yard with. Having lots of flowers makes me happy and makes up for the long cold winter (almost). I fill my vegetable garden with tomatoes and make lots of salsa. I love to cook and would rather eat my own cooking than go out to eat. Before we had kids, we loved to travel outside the US. I've seen France, Germany, Switzerland, Belguim, the Netherlands, Luxemborg, Austria, Italy, Mexico, Canada, Iceland, Aruba, the Bahamas, and our favorite trip, Egypt. Since the kids, we've stayed in the US and travelled to a beach whenever we can and Disney World much too often. That's it for now. Thanks for reading.
  • ChatterBox

    Click here to join CafeMom today.

    Momontherun2 wrote at 6:06 PM on Apr. 12 , 2007

    Momontherun2

    Hi, I have a group called PTA MOMS and would like to invite you to join:0)http://www.cafemom.com/group/PTAMOMS

    h.askew96 wrote at 11:55 AM on Mar. 5 , 2007

    h.askew96

    Hi, Im new here..and just looking to make new mommy firends:) This looks to be alot of fun! Feel free to add me to your friends if you are up for chatting with another IL mommy:) Have a great day!!!

    Eko wrote at 12:37 AM on Jan. 31 , 2007

    Eko

    Hi! I'm in Bloomington, IL. Married 6 yrs, 1 child, 3 yrs old, Michael. I've been looking for mommie friends but havnt found any yet, I currently am a SAHM going to college. I hope to work at State Farm one day or move out west and get a job would be nice also. I dont like the winter! Take care!

    LdyOrion77 wrote at 4:13 PM on Dec. 12 , 2006

    LdyOrion77

    Hey, my name is Kelly. My husband and I have 2 girls and live in Normal. My husband is an IT Tech at State Farm and I start there in January. Just thought I'd stop by and say hello!

  • Groups

  • Your Friends

    kelgarrett hasn't added any friends yet.