Please read Part I...

  1. Lenten – Repentance
Color:  Purple – represents a time of penance, death, and Christ’s forgiveness (During Holy Week the color is Ox Blood Red, denoting the shedding of Christ’s blood.)
Significance:  Introspection for the removal of sin
Theme:  Repentance, forgiveness, and restoration
Duration:  It lasts from Ash Wednesday through Holy Week, a period of 40 Days (excluding Sundays).
Major Feasts:  Ash Wednesday (Dried Palm leaves from the previous year’s Palm Sunday Procession are burned and the ashes imposed on the penitent’s forehead.)

Holy Week Services: (Ox Blood Red)
Palm Sunday (“Hosanna!” Processional)
Maundy Thursday
(means “New Commandment”/a day of joy because Christ gave us the Eucharist-Color is White)
Good Friday (Color-Black/Day of Atonement for our sins)
Holy Saturday (lasts until sunset)
The Great Easter Vigil (starts at sunset on Holy Saturday until Easter Sunday)

5. Easter – Resurrection

Color:  White (or Gold) – represents the purity, holiness, and perfection of Christ
Significance:  The bodily resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ, conquering the power of sin and death
Theme:  Joy and renewal through the resurrection power of the living Christ, who has redeemed and brought us eternally home to the Father
Duration:  It starts at Easter Vigil (Easter Eve) and last 50 days until Pentecost.
Major Feasts:   Resurrection Sunday (Easter)

The Feast of Ascension (Christ returned to sit at the Right Hand of the Father, having finished the work of redemption. He now builds and governs His Church through the Holy Spirit, but will bodily return to rule from the earth.)

The Feast of Pentecost (means “50”/also “Festival of Weeks”- denoting the gathering in of the Jewish harvests…also Whitsuntide from white baptismal robes

The Holy Spirit was given to the Church on the day of Pentecost. It was here Peter “unlocked” the Kingdom with the Keys of Authority and 3,000 souls were saved.

6. After Pentecost

Color:  Red – a reminder that there is “life” in the blood of Christ and a representation of the power that was made available to the Church; also represents the “tongues of fire” that rested upon the heads of those gathered in the Upper Room on the Day of Pentecost
Significance:  We celebrate the coming of the Holy Spirit who saves, sanctifies, and empowers for service; the guide, governor, and guardian of the Church
Theme:  The gifts and fruit of the Spirit
Duration:  It starts on the first Sunday after Pentecost and last until the Feast of the Transfiguration of our Lord Jesus Christ in August.
Major FeastsTrinity Sunday (White-a time when we celebrate and ponder the majesty and mystery of our one God in Three Persons: The Father, Son, and Holy Spirit)

7. Kingdomtide – Ordinary Time (Living the Christian Life)

Color:  Green – represents the growing Christian life
Significance:  The Kingdom of God is an everyday reality in our lives and should not be marked by high’s and low’s, but steady progress.
Duration:  It lasts from the first Sunday after the Feast of the Transfiguration of our Lord Jesus Christ until the beginning of Advent.
Major FeastsAll Saints Day (White/Nov. 1--a time to remember and honor all of those who have passed from this earthly existence into the rest of our Lord.

Christ the King (White; Last Sunday before Advent)

source: adapted from
the Student Manual of The Certificate Program at St. Michael’s Seminary, The International Communion of the Charismatic Episcopal Church

“And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”
John 8:32  nkjv

The above verse is often quoted with the word “set”, but notice Jesus “makes” us free. This suggests a period of time--a process similar to peeling or unwrapping. As the Holy Spirit helps us to understand, embrace, and activate truth in our lives it will ultimately, without fail, begin to make us free!

Kingdom truths are like exquisite diamonds with multiple facets. The closer we are to the treasure, the more facets we can clearly locate and examine. Moving around the diamond also gives up perspectives we could not see from a static position. The enemy likes to keep us “stuck in a rut”, but God wants us to go from “glory to glory”.

The Church Calendar keeps up focused on the four major doctrines of Christ as we repeatedly, year after year, move rhythmically through the seven fixed seasons. They, like the diamond, remain unchanged. However, we are the ones changing--growing ever closer, gaining new perspectives as the Holy Spirit removes layers of self and man-centeredness to reveal a Christ consciousness.   

We observe the birthdays of our loved ones every year at the same time. Nevertheless, these celebrations vary in meaning from year to year, becoming more poignant and precious with the passing of time and changing circumstances. So does the passing of holy days during our pilgrimage through time on earth.
We don’t gauge our spiritual growth by reading the latest “end time” book or attending a healing crusade, but by whether or not we know Jesus better--more intimately--than ever before! We compare ourselves…not to each other, but to Christ as He is increasingly revealed through time in these doctrines of the Church.

I must ask myself: Do I have a greater personal revelation of Christ’s Resurrection
this year? Am I walking in a Kingdom reality of Pentecost that I was not able to grasp last year? How have these truths been working progressively, faithfully in my life over the past year to “make” me free in Christ? Can I tell a difference? Can others?

Yes, the Church Year is the same; but am I?

David proclaimed:

“Lord, make me to know my end, and what is the measure of my days,
that I may know how frail I am. Indeed, you have made my days as handbreadths, and my age is nothing before You.”
Psalm 39:4-5a  nkjv

After David died the Holy Spirit proclaimed:

“For David, after he had served his own generation by the will of God,
fell asleep…”
  Acts 13:36  nkjv

 May we all be wise redeemers and stewards of the gift of time, so that it may also be said of us that AFTER serving our generation by the will of God, we took off our watches, closed our calendars, and felt the eternal embrace of God!

Mary Diane blogs on topics regarding the liturgy, sacraments, signs, and symbols of the early church at CONFERRING GRACE.

She spent the first twenty-five years of her life in an evangelical denomination, followed by another twenty-five as a leader in the Charismatic Renewal.

When God led her family back to the anchor of the early church, Mary Diane discovered that much of what she had been told or taught about the expressions  of faith within liturgical/sacramental churches had been distorted over time.

It is her desire to provide sound, Biblical teachings that embrace all three streams of Christianity--Evangelical, Charismatic, and Sacramental--into one mighty river, and help dispel misconceptions that seeks to divide the Body of Christ.

Add A Comment


Be the first to add a comment below.
Want to leave a comment and join the discussion?

Sign up for CafeMom!

Already a member? Click here to log in