I received an email today that I am sure is a scam. I am just wondering if anyone else has received an email like this? I don't know how common it is but I feel like I should report it. It seems like a tragedy waiting to happen. Does anyone know how I would go about reporting it? Just contact local authorities maybe?

 

Here it is...From: Mr James Morrison Jr.
African Development Bank Group.
South-Africa.
Tel:27-832-400-955.
 
 
Dear Friend
 
I know that this message will come to you as a surprise. I am the Auditing and Accounting section manager in AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK (A.D.B) South-Africa. I Hoped that you will not expose or betray this trust and confident that i am about to repose on you for the mutual benefit of our both families.
 
I need your urgent assistance in transferring the sum of ($15.2)million to your account within 10 or 14 banking days. This money has been dormant for years in our Bank without claim.I want the bank to release the money to you as the nearest person to our deceased customer.
 
I don't want the money to go into our Bank treasurer as an abandoned fund. So this is the reason why i contacted you so that the bank can release the money to you as the next of kin to the deceased customer. Please I would like you to keep this proposal as a top secret and delete it if you are not interested.
 
Upon receipt of your reply,i will give you full details on how the business will be executed and also note that you will have 40% of the above mentioned sum if you agree to handle this business.and (5%) will be preserved for  helping the helpless people, like charity organization and motherless babies.
I am expecting your urgent response through my below e-mail address as shown below,as soon as you receive my message.
 
Best Regard.
Mr.James Morrison Jr.
Tel:Û 832-400-955
Email:tkkor789@yahoo.com
                   
                      WAITING FOR YOUR RESPONSE

 

 

Add A Comment

Comments:

p2of9
Feb. 7, 2008 at 6:02 PM It's a scam.  I've been contacted by lawyers in Nigeria, solicitors in England, and little old ladies who "think I'm their granddaughter" in Italy.  If you contact cybertipline.com, you can report it as a scam.

Message Friend Invite

glitt...
Feb. 7, 2008 at 6:06 PM Huge scam!

Message Friend Invite

lydia...
Feb. 7, 2008 at 6:35 PM oh my goodness, i have seen this on dateline!!!!  dont do it!!! I dont know how to report it though

Message Friend Invite

layan...
Feb. 7, 2008 at 11:45 PM It's a scam (as everyone said) you can report it to the attorney general but they will just tell you not to respond to the email... I had one once from Ghana that was writing to use me as a daycare provider. The actually set it up that they were coming to the states for 6 weeks and needed a provider they even paid in advance, sent a check and everything. I had the check checked out and it was a fraud (all they need is you to deposit a check or do anything from your bank account to get the #s), I reported it to the AG but they said they couldn't do anything. I emailed the scamers and told them that I reported everything and sent the emails and fraudulant check to the attorney general, they freaked out, at least i felt better.

Message Friend Invite

Want to leave a comment and join the discussion?

Sign up for CafeMom!

Already a member? Click here to log in